Heqanakht Letters

Merry Christmas! I am writing this hoping to post on Christmas Day.

I haven’t updated anything and I have been busy with many things. Both grammar books I am studying are getting more complex.

Also I want to mention that the group I am studying with is going to start Allen’s study section. If you are interested I think you still got some time.

Study Hieroglyphs Online(Yahoo Group)

Today I will write bit about Heqanakht Letters.

I did one line translation from the letters and found the original papyri in good condition on Met Museums’ website.

They were written around 12 dynasty and Heqanakht was a high official. There are couple letters and I did translate a part of Heqanakht Letter 2.

Heqanakht Letters 2

(Image Source : Met Museums : Public Domain : https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/545446)

I did translation on this part of line.

I was originally hoping to post my translation with transliteration but since my translation is from Allen’s book I have decided not to post. I am careful with copyright. Should be ok but just in case. Maybe one day I would be able to translate the whole letters.

Keep studying!

Best Wish!

Muna

One thought on “Heqanakht Letters

Leave a comment